ISA Confirms Athletes Qualified For Historic Debut of SUP at 2019 Pan American Games


LA JOLLA, California – The International Surfing Association (ISA) is pleased to announce the athletes that have qualified to compete in Surfing and StandUp Paddle’s (SUP) historic debut at the Lima 2019 Pan American Games. Set to take place between July 26 – August 11, the 2019 Pan Ams will mark the largest multisport event to feature Surfing and SUP to date, showcasing the sports to a global audience ahead of Surfing’s upcoming landmark debut in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

88 qualification slots are to be allocated among the disciplines of shortboard, longboard, SUP surfing, and SUP racing. A full list of the qualified athletes can be found below.

The star-studded field of competitors is highlighted by eleven ISA Gold Medalists, including 2018 World Surfing Games Gold Medalist Santiago Muñiz (ARG), two-time ISA World Surfing Games Gold Medalist Tia Blanco (PUR), four-time ISA SUP Racing Gold Medalist Candice Appleby (USA), and back-to-back SUP Surfing Gold Medalist Luiz Diniz (BRA).

The athletes qualified for the Pan Ams via a process defined by the ISA and Pan American Surfing Association (PASA) that includes a combination of ISA Global Events, PASA championships, the Association of Paddlesurf Professionals tour, and ALAS Latin Tour events. The final responsibility for entering the athletes in the Games rests with the respective National Olympic Committees (NOCs). The complete qualification system can be read here.

The qualification slots for the longboard competition are still to be confirmed, pending the results of the 2019 ISA World Longboard Surfing Championship which will take place in Biarritz, France May 26 – June 2.

isa china 2018 luiz diniz jiminez isa china 2018 luiz diniz jimenez

Brazil’s Luiz Diniz winning Gold at the 2018 ISA’s in China. He will be one to look at for Gold in the Pan Am Games. | Photos: ISA / Pablo Jimenez

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“The Pan Am Games will mark a momentous moment for the sport of Surfing in all its disciplines. Never has Surfing had a chance to broadcast itself to a global audience on such a large stage, second only behind the Olympics. A new light will also shine on StandUp Paddle, giving it a global spotlight to display its high-performance, thrilling, and youthful qualities that we believe could one day make it an excellent fit alongside surfing in the Olympic Games.

I am looking forward to seeing the best athletes of the Americas, from Argentina to Canada, uniting in competition, giving us a preview of the amazing competition that we are to see next year at Tokyo 2020. We are excited to work with our friends from Pan Am Sports, the Lima 2019 Organizing Committee and the Pan Am Surfing Association in showcasing our sport to the Americas and the world.”

SUP Surf Qualified Athletes


  • Luiz Diniz (BRA)
  • Giorgio Gomez (COL)
  • Finn Spencer (CAN)
  • Tamil Martino (PER)
  • Daniel Hughes (USA)
  • Mariano de Cabo (ARG)
  • Armando Colucci (VEN)
  • Dave de Armas (PUR)
  • Alexander de la Cruz (DOM)


  • Candice Appleby (USA)
  • Izzi Gomez (COL)
  • Vania Torres (PER)
  • Nicole Pacelli (BRA)
  • Josselyn Alabi (ESA)
  • Lucia Cosoleto (ARG)
  • Nimsay Garcia (PUR)
  • Michelle Soriano (ECU)
  • Catherine Temple (CAN)

SUP Race Qualified Athletes


  • Connor Baxter (USA)
  • Itzel Delgado (PER)
  • Vinnicius Martins (BRA)
  • Giorgio Gomez (COL)
  • Franco Faccin (ARG)
  • Fernando Stalla (MEX)
  • Carlos Gomez (ECU)
  • Michael Darbyshire (CAN)
  • Omelv Garcia (PUR)
  • Francisco Hernandez (VEN)


  • Candice Appleby (USA)
  • Maricarmen Rivera (PUR)
  • Lina Augaitis (CAN)
  • Lena Ribeiro (BRA)
  • Juliana Gonzalez (ARG)
  • Valeria Salustri (CRC)
  • Alejandra Brito (MEX)
  • Giannisa Vecco (PER)
  • Carla Perez (CHI)
  • Edimar Luque (VEN)

USA BAXTER NZL TUNNINGTON JIMENEZConnor Baxter (left) at the ISA Championships in China. | Photo: ISA / Pablo Jimenez

About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 104 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.